Skateconsultant's Blog
SKATE SHARPENING AND MAINTENANCE ADVICE

Bauer Hockey Skates ( APX 2) New Steel

We got a question in another group we run about The new Lightspeed EDGE asking me my thoughts about the brand new replacement steel and holder that Bauer has created. This was my reply.
Well i saw my first pair yesterday. A pair of Bauer apx 2 came into  the store yesterday. Here are my thoughts. For Equipment managers of hockey teams. The first thought is for a year or 2 it will be a equipment managers nightmare. It is a totally new blade with a new shape( of the back of the blade the goes into the plastic holder). It will require the new holder. So you are going to have to transition between the 2 styles lightspeed and lightspeed EDGE. Some players are going to like the old. Some will like the new ones. Getting a full inventory of that blade in quickly will likely be difficult. If it were me. I would order in what you think you will need now and what you think you will need in December. This is brand new and you don’t know what kind of issues you will run into with breakage and defects with the holder. My guess is this won’t be a cheap holder either. There is an issue, in my opinion  the blade does not look like the blade goes deep enough into the plastic.This will cause issues with loose blades and more than like cause an annoying clicking sound. I profiled the pair that came in yesterday. When I profile  I like to match my profile reference marks on the blade with corresponding marks that i put on the clamp of my holder. I noticed that you will likely only be able clamp the skate in the middle of the holder. This is a personal thing for me and I will get used to it.

For removing the blade we found wearing a pair of latex gloves while removing the blade will allow you to do so without the tool.I would practice quite a few times before attempting to taking it in and out on the bench, If this is something you plan on doing. I also think that you will have to plan how many pairs to bring to the bench( For what size and what profiles they will have. This could be a logistics nightmare for you.

As far as Retail the retail setting  I think it will be interesting for a skater going away to a tournament to take 2 sets. I am also interested in the resale price of both the holder and the blade. My guess is 10 dollars more per piece going on 150 to 160 retail for a full set. This maybe cost prohibitive. These are my thoughts. I look forward to some feedback on this;

3 Responses to “Bauer Hockey Skates ( APX 2) New Steel”

  1. My sons apx2 skates are now 4 months old and the blade is very loose in the holder!! Anybody else experiencing this problem? I am very disappointed and will be contacting Bauer on Monday. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

    • I have not seen enough as of yet with that kind of use. My area got them later than most. I was concerned with that. As i stated in my blog the blade in my opinion is not deep enough into the plastic by design. This could be very frustrating for sure. Please let me know what bauer says and how they handle the situation for you…. Good Luck

  2. Thanks on your marvelous posting! I actually
    enjoyed reading it, you’re a great author.I will make certain to bookmark
    your blog and may come back later in life.

    I want to encourage you to continue your great job, have a nice
    weekend!


Leave a comment